Unravel and Orange Cake

It might be half term, but this does not mean we are standing still.

Visitis to Ikea (there is always something one needs in Ikea, right?), lovely lazy morning walks which have been good for all of us.

I have just baked a delicious orange cake for my workshop attendants tomorrow. Yes, the pompom workshop is happening tomorrow, so excited :-).

As I was looking up the recipe I noticed that I had hand written it in my cookbook which I have since I was 17 years old. The pages are discoloured and splattered, but the recipe still works and I still love the taste.

Ok, I’ll share it with you:

 

You will need

75 g flour

75 g cornflour

1/2 tsp baking powder

4 eggs

200 g caster sugar

2 tsp grated orange zest

80 g melted butter

juice of 5 oranges plus 1 tblsp sugar

 

Beat eggs with sugar over hot water till very, very creamy

Sieve flour, cornflower and baking powder and fold into egg mixture

Fold in melted butter and add orange zest

 

Line a round baking tin and add mixture

Bake at 170*C for about 30 minutes.

 

While cake is baking juice the oranges, add the sugar and heat. Do not boil!

Once cake is baked, prick with a fork and add hot orange juice.

Let it stand to cool and only then remove from tin.

Dust with icing sugar just before serving.

orange cake

I hope you will enjoy this as much as I have and still do.

 

The Sewing Bee is on tonight and I can watch it live. So excited to sit with my girls and watch all the talented ladies and gents perform their magic. I have not got a favourite contestant yet, do you?

 

The most exciting event of the week is the Unravel show at the Farnham Maltings. I went last year and loved it. So looking forward to spending my Saturday there. If you are able to, do try and get there. It starts on Friday 20th and ends Sunday 22nd February.

Hope you are having a great week too

 

love Ex

2 thoughts on “Unravel and Orange Cake

Leave a Reply

